Skip to main content

You are here

Finalists announced for UK's leading Green Transport Awards

Finalists announced for UK's leading Green Transport Awards Thursday, 6 November, 2014

The Energy Saving Trust has announced the shortlist for the 2014 Fleet Hero Awards. The judges have selected 38 fleets, suppliers and vehicle manufacturers who are at the cutting edge of work to reduce transport carbon emissions.

Now in its ninth year, the Energy Saving Trust Fleet Hero Awards identifies organisations, suppliers and manufacturers that have successfully reduced fuel bills and lowered carbon footprints through better transport policies and improved fleet efficiency.

The winners will be announced on Thursday 27 November at the Institute of Directors (IoD) in London. Baroness Kramer, Transport Minister, will attend the ceremony along with other notable business leaders and government stakeholders.

This year’s awards will be hosted by former Top Gear presenter and motoring expert Quentin Willson. Quentin said: “I am delighted to be involved in the Energy Saving Trust Fleet Hero Awards. This is one of the key fleet events in the UK and I am looking forward to hosting the awards in November. Previous winners, both fleets and suppliers, have made significant achievements in carbon and cost reduction, and I will be interested to hear what this year’s nominees have accomplished.”

Philip Sellwood, Chief Executive of the Energy Saving Trust, said: “The Fleet Hero Awards is a showcase of innovation. These awards are open to all fleets regardless of size and budget, or whether they are low or high-tech. We think the organisations in our shortlist are inspiring because of their efforts. Each has taken their own approach to cut carbon emissions and to save money and for this they deserve recognition.

“This is the ninth year for the awards and they continue to go from strength to strength. The two new categories reflect how the Fleet Hero Awards are evolving and developing alongside the latest industry trends and innovation.”

The 10 award categories are: Best Public Sector Fleet sponsored by Enterprise Rent-A-Car; Best Business Sector Fleet sponsored by Volkswagen; Plugged-in Fleets sponsored by EDF Energy; Grey Fleet Management sponsored by Route Monkey; Eco-driving; Innovation & Technology sponsored by Fleet World; Transport Solutions Supplier; Ultra Low Emission Vehicle Manufacturer sponsored by Alphabet; Commercial Vehicle Management sponsored by GE Fleet Services; Individual Achievement

To view the shortlist, or to find out more about the awards, please visit the fleet heroes website or email with any questions.

For more information on how your organisation can cut transport costs and emissions visit our fleet advice page or email

The companies that made it onto the Fleet Hero Awards 2014 shortlist are:

Best Public Sector Fleet, sponsored by Enterprise Rent-A-Car

  • Gateshead Council
  • London Borough of Islington
  • West Yorkshire Police
  • Wiltshire Council

Best Business Sector Fleet, sponsored by Volkswagen

  • Carter Synergy Ltd
  • ERS Medical
  • HSB Engineering Insurance Ltd
  • Willmott Dixon
  • Z-Tech Control Systems Ltd

Plugged-in Fleets, sponsored by EDF Energy

  • eConnect Cars
  • Fruit 4 Limited
  • Gnewt Cargo
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Sheffield

Grey Fleet Management, sponsored by Route Monkey

  • Portsmouth City Council
  • Sussex Community NHS Trust
  • University of Cumbria


  • Axis Europe
  • Gateshead Council
  • Imtech Traffic & Infra
  • Park House Healthcare Ltd

Innovation and Technology, sponsored by Fleet World

  • ALD Automotive
  • Chevin Fleet Solutions
  • Route Monkey
  • South Central Ambulance Service

Transport Solutions Supplier

  • eConnect Cars
  • GLH Ltd
  • Gnewt Cargo
  • Green Motion

Ultra Low Emission Vehicle Manufacturer, sponsored by Alphabet

  • Citroen UK Ltd
  • Nissan
  • Toyota and Lexus Fleet Services

Commercial Vehicle Management, sponsored by GE Fleet Services

  • Center Parcs Ltd
  • Gnewt Cargo
  • O’Donovan Waste Disposal

Individual Achievement

  • Vicky Reed, Fleetdrive Electric
  • Claire Kitto, HSB Engineering Insurance Ltd
  • Andrew Brown, West Yorkshire Police


For further information, please contact:

Lindsey Taylor at the Energy Saving Trust at