Skip to main content

You are here

Energy Saving Trust announces the 2014 "Fleet Heroes"

Energy Saving Trust announces the 2014 "Fleet Heroes"Monday, 1 December, 2014

Ten organisations have been announced as winners of the Energy Saving Trust Fleet Hero Awards 2014.

The Fleet Hero Awards identify public and private sector organisations that are successfully reducing fuel bills and cutting carbon emissions through better transport policies and improved fleet efficiency. The Energy Saving Trust also recognises businesses that supply cost and fuel saving products or services to fleets.

The winners were announced at a ceremony at the Institute of Directors (IoD) in London attended by Baroness Kramer as well as other notable business leaders and government representatives.

Phillip Sellwood, chief executive of the Energy Saving Trust, said: 

“The Fleet Hero Awards is one of the key events on the sustainable transport calendar and they go from strength to strength each year. This year’s winners show just what is possible for running efficient fleets and supplying innovative products and services. The successful organisations were instrumental in making this our most successful awards night to date.

“The awards show the role of the Energy Saving Trust is now more important than ever. Many fleets need our advice and guidance to take action, whether it’s those first steps they need to take to invest in their first plug-in vehicle or those that will have a lasting and sustainable impact, eliminating their grey fleet entirely. The winners this year are pioneers, setting the standards for others to follow.”

The 2014 Fleet Hero Award winners are:

  • Plugged-in fleets award, sponsored by EDF Energy: e-Connect Cars
  • Best public sector fleet, sponsored by Enterprise Rent-A-Car: West Yorkshire Police
  • Best business sector fleet, sponsored by Volkswagen: Willmott Dixon
  • Grey fleet management, sponsored by Route Monkey: University of Cumbria
  • Innovation and technology, sponsored by Fleet World: Route Monkey
  • Ultra low emission vehicle manufacturer, sponsored by Alphabet: Nissan
  • Commercial vehicle management, sponsored by GE Fleet Services: O’Donovan (Waste Disposal)
  • Eco-driving: Park House Healthcare
  • Transport solutions supplier: Gnewt Cargo
  • Individual achievement: Andrew Brown, West Yorkshire Police

Read the winners the full shortlist for this year’s awards.

For more information on how to cut motoring costs visit our green fleet advice page or email

For further information, or to speak to one of the winners, please contact Lindsey Taylor at